Subnautica Price Increasing on Steam

Posted by Hugh 3 weeks ago

Subnautica on Steam is edging towards launch. We are aiming for release on the 31st of October, 2017. There’s lots of work still to do, particularly with regards to performance, but we are quite somewhat confident we will hit the 31st. We would like to increase the price of Subnautica for launch, to 24.99 US dollars (a 25% increase from the current price of $19.99).

This price increase is applicable to Steam only. Subnautica’s price on Xbox One is not changing at this time.

Subnautica first entered Steam Early Access in 2014. Back then, there was barely any game. There were Peepers, some water to drown in, and a cardboard-cutout Aurora on the horizon. Since then, Subnautica has exploded with content and features. From the Cyclops Update, through H2.0, to the more recent Cuddlefish and Ghost, and myriad updates in between, Subnautica has matured into a big game.

We hope you will agree that this price increase reflects the improvements we have made to Subnautica over many years.

In order to comply with price regulations in some jurisdictions, particularly the European Union, we need to increase our price a month in advance of launch. We intend to increase Subnautica’s price on Friday, 29 September, at 4pm Pacific Time. That’s:

4pm in San Francisco

7pm in New York

Midnight in London

1am Saturday in Paris

9am Saturday in Sydney

Please spread the word among your friends!

As we move towards launch, please keep sending us all your feedback. We are racing to make as many improvements as possible to Subnautica before the big day. We are analysing F8 feedback reports, emails, forum and social media posts in search of the most critical bugs and frustrations, and very much appreciate you taking the time to tell us what you think.

– Hugh